mars has babes.

Lately I’ve been obsessed with Mars.  The planet, not the Roman god of war.  I seem to surround myself with people that are also obsessed with Mars; multiple friends have posted articles on their Facebook about missions to mars, possibilities, NASA training, etc.

Maybe it goes back further, when I first saw “Total Recall” or the animated “Red Planet.”  Maybe it was last year when I found a coverless book called “One Day on Mars.”  I haven’t read a page of it, but I stare at it like it actually has a cover and imagine what’s inside.

I think in some way that reading the actual words would ruin the dream.

Mars is a frontier.  It must be something like the colonists first setting sail for America.  It seemed so far away.  But unlike them, the modern human race is dragging their feet.  Funding is being cut; science fiction became science fact only to become science fiction again.

To quote my guitar-playing, pizza-loving, Four Loko-slamming former roommate’s Facebook status from a couple weeks back: “Cutting funding from the space program is so stupid. A Planet that doesn’t think it needs rockets is the same as a ship that doesn’t think it needs lifeboats.”

Poignant stuff, old friend.

Embarrassingly enough, I thought getting to Mars was absurd.  All the gear and food, and either you give up half your life or invent cryogenic hyperstasis.  Come on.

And then a magazine article (in Maxim, no less–yeah, yeah, I read it for the articles and all that) told me that a manned mission to Mars is not only possible, but could be completed in less than a year.

Are you kidding me?  I’ve definitely wasted more time doing less important stuff.  In fact, I worked almost three years at a Cold Stone Creamery.

I could have gone to Mars three freaking times! Instead, I was making waffle cones.

So between renting the direct-to-dvd, practically-shot-in-my-backyard bastardized version of Burrough’s “A Princess of Mars” to finally making myself read Bradbury’s “Martian Chronicles,” I’ve been gearing up for the voyage.

Here I come, Tars Tarkas.  Get your proverbial shit together.  Mars has babes.  I know it.

2 thoughts on “mars has babes.

  1. Interesting that you post this on the day the oldest space shuttle, the Discovery, launches for its last mission. The space shuttle program is being retired, but we have yet to introduce its successor. Meanwhile, one of the Discovery’s passengers is a humanoid called Robonaut 2: http://www.nasa.gov/mission_pages/station/main/robonaut.html, whose purpose is to test the dexterity of human-like robots in space. This is important research, particularly for a potential Mars trip.

Leave a Reply

