x-treme x-mas wishlist

My dear friend and fellow writer April recently got me stirred up about the movie Cowboys and Aliens (I loved it, she hated it) in order to spur me into writing a ‘Best Films of 2011’ blog.  Great idea.

But forget that.  Nobody tricks me into writing an interesting a blog.  So you get this!

Top 5 Items on my Christmas Wishlist

That’s right, you heard me.  Here’s the thing.  Money’s pretty tight this holiday season and there’s no way I’m getting any of this stuff for myself–which is how I traditionally get Christmas gifts–so I’m going to share my Top 5  with you fine folks.

No, this is not a shameless plug to get some free presents.

But I do firmly believe you can tell a lot about a man by the material items for which he wishes.  So here’s a glimpse into my soul.  Warning:  this list may shock you.  Or it may not shock you whatsoever.

Here we go:

#5 ) Robot Chicken: Star Wars Episode III

Reason:  Actually, any of the Robot Chicken: Star Wars would do, but this one’s on Blu Ray and I recently saw it on Cartoon Network and lost it.  I love the character they made out of the Emperor.  Genius.  I was always a big fan of Toyfare magazine–and Robot Chicken is pretty much the living embodiment of it.  And all Star Wars?  Gimme!

#4) Gundam 00 – Season 1, Part 2

Reason: This is by far the best of the Gundam series.  And if you know me, you know I’m addicted to Gundam.  Although, I’ve kept it kind of hush-hush on the blog….hmm.  Maybe it’s time for that to change?  Anyway, they broke this series into a million volumes–and anime is expensive!  So even though it’s my favorite of all time, no, I don’t have it yet.

#3) Star Wars Saga Blu Ray Collection

Reason: Duh.

#2) Skylanders Starter Pack (PS3)

Reason: Okay, I don’t care if this thing is designed for 2-year-olds, I want it!  It’s a game that lets you play as element-themed creatures similar to Pokemon.  Bonus, you get to buy FIGURINES of the characters you want to play, set them on a USB ‘portal,’ and boom they appear in the game.  And the action figure stores the data!  So cool!  And I recently got to try out the game at the Skylanders Mall Tour and, luckily, it is awesome.  So simple and so addictive.  For my birthday, I bought myself the character Prism Break.  I can already tell he’s the best.

Also, don’t believe me about any of this?  Watch this video.

#1) Blade of Tyshalle by Matthew Stover

Reason:  I’ve formulated the theory that this is the #1 most rarest book ever.  Why?  Amazon doesn’t have that many copies, for starters.  And the ones they do have range in price from $16 to $105.  Probably don’t buy the $105 one.  This book is the sequel to a book I searched for for a very long time called Heroes Die.  It is one of the best fantasy books I’ve ever read, and the sequel promises a whole new ball game.  Everyone should read this book.  My girlfriend would never have attempted reading Heroes Die, but when I gave it to her as a gift, she had to.  And she cried.  It’s THAT powerful.

Well, there you have it.  A glimpse into the core of my very being.  There are no Transformers on this Christmas list–usually a staple of mine–but there aren’t really any standout Transformers out there right now. If I had to pick one, I guess it’d be this one.

And, in hindsight, I would have asked for this before December began.

And though I will be working a 9-day stretch this holiday season, I am far less crass than I usually am about holidays.  I have a lot of great memories of Christmas past and a lot of good Christmas movies on DVD to watch.  And plenty of cocoa.  Merry Christmas to all, and to all a good night!

Oh, and one more thing.  There will be more Top 5 lists coming soon.  Just a warning.

2 thoughts on “x-treme x-mas wishlist

Leave a Reply

