fasting and furious

How do I put this….I’m doing a ‘spiritual fast’ for the next 21 days.  I’m on Day 2.  And I’m hungry.

It’s called The Daniel Fast and while I’m not exactly the spiritual type, I do think it’s important for a person to see what they can go without.  In college, I fasted for a day just because and got a ton of people on board in my dorm.  Senior year, I ate nothing but fruits and veggies (more or less) for 11 days…and then made everybody go out to eat at my favorite Chinese buffet to celebrate.

Maybe I just like attention.

Anyway, my plan is to stick to this thing.  It’s not like a hunger strike–although, as previously mentioned, I’m pretty damn hungry.  I’m following an example calendar, though you are allowed to make your own custom fast to follow.  Fruits, veggies, whole grains, and legumes are all up for grabs.  Out is anything with additives and chemicals, processed stuff, dairy, meat,and bread.

Those are going to be quite the obstacles.  I mean, I need the last 3 to even make a decent pizza.

But the only thing I’m better at than attention-getting fasts is finding loopholes.  I plan to make some pretty delicious dishes out of these things.  My secret ingredient?  Salsa.  A little all-natural salsa goes a long way.

But some days are just juice and water.  I don’t know about those days.  Hopefully Naked Juice is filling.

I don’t know what it’s going to do for me.  Hopefully make me shed a couple pounds [Disclaimer: it’s not to be used as a diet, I know, I know…] and maybe factory reset me, both physically and spiritually.  I’m not expecting a vision quest or anything–unless the local Co-op slips a ground button or two in with my portobellos–but hopefully it’ll give me some perspective.  And additionally curb my appetite for all those delicious restaurant foods I spoiled myself with while living in the Cities.

I do have some concerns.  Fasts like this scare me because they are not exactly doctor-ordered.  I have to keep ahead of the game.  Stay sharp.  The last thing I want is for my brain to start eating itself and I become about as creative as a garden snail.

Also, I tend to get SUPER IRRITABLE when I’m hungry.  And I work at a restaurant, serving food to voracious guests on decadent vacations.  Not an ideal combo.  Not for me, anyway.

But I want to stick with it.  Will I make it all 21 days?  I don’t know.  So far, olive oil is a go.  If they tell me I can’t use that–I’m out.  But here’s the awesome thing I made for lunch:

4 red potatoes

1 sprig of rosemary

1/2 clove of garlic

1/2 red onion

1/2 zucchini

1 yellow bell pepper

1/4 cup of salsa

Add some all-natural steak seasonings and stir-fry that bee-otch!

So wish me luck…or pray for me, if that’s your thing.  I want to stick with this.  I’m going to try anyway.

No.  Do or do not, there is no try.  That’s what Yoda said,  right?

Leave a Reply

