the saga of the fast comes to an end

It’s true what many of you have heard: the ‘spiritual fast’ is over.

So what was my first meal of the day?  Well, cereal and milk.  A healthy, all-natural cereal that I could have probably had during the fast…but the milk though!  Real actual milk!  What a concept!

I know, right?  What a loose cannon I am, huh?  Cereal and milk.  But you have to go at these things slow, know what I mean, mate?

For lunch I promised my girlfriend I would have Chicken Noodle Soup.  Apparently (read: allegedly) she saw on a show that the myths behind chicken noodle soup and curing the common cold are true.

I’m a sucker for debunking food myths (Food Network, I”m talking to you: get your sh** together and make a Mythbusters: Food Edition pronto) so I’m giving it a whirl.  Plus, I think it’s a good transition from the world of vegan to omnivore.

Needless to say, I’m having my first few bites as I write this.  It’s delicious.  I used all fresh veggies and low sodium broth from the Co-Op, fresh chicken, no-preservative pasta, yada-yada-yada.

I don’t know how long I can go (or rather, my wallet can go) eating this fresh, organic stuff–but I’m going to try it as long as I can.

It’s been an interesting day so far.  I mean, there was no fireworks-and-parades wake-up call that I assumed followed this fast.  I did watch some serious Ben 10: Ultimate Alien and Saturday Night Live between jumping jacks and weight-lifing, if that counts for anything.

I also found out one of my best friends in the world just skipped town to escape a–how do I put this?–less-than-ideal domestic situation.

As I sit wondering if I”ll ever see her again, I can’t help but stew over what this means:  there are still monsters in the world.  There are still [relatively] human beings that capture angels just to tear their wings off.

I try to avoid writing about things like this–both in my fiction and on my blog–but this has absolutely derailed me for the day.

It’s true what they say:  you really don’t understand things like this until it happens to someone you care about.

And by ‘understand’ I mean ‘get at all and am shocked and horrified by.’

Not much more to say about it.  I hate being the guy that ‘put someone’s business in the streets’ as my college roommate used to say.

So…what’s a good segue out of that.  There is none?  Well, in that case, uh, I’m having nachos for dinner?

Healthy nachos.

Relatively healthy nachos.

Cut me some slack.

I think I’m also going to watch Matrix Reloaded.  Why?  It should be incredibly obvious:

1. I started my blog with a quote from Morpheus.

2. Obviously this led me to look for a picture of the scene [see above].

3. In Googling “Morpheus Matrix Reloaded” I stumbled across this pic:

I mean, come on.  Look at that sword!  You are obviously going to go rent/buy/dig up the DVD of The Matrix and watch it after seeing this, right?  How could you not?

Samurai sword!

Sigh.  I need to get back to the library, back to writing.  This cold, this fast, and this news have left me in a weird place.  I full intend to kill it–intellectually-speaking, of course–next week on this book-writing thing.

But, for now, let’s just call this a Mental Health Week.  Is that the right term?  Retail Therapy?  No, I think that’s something else.  Anyway….

I want to leave you with a little sketch from SNL that struck a chord with me.  I laughed at it, but also couldn’t help but be cut by it a little bit.

Another reason for my derailment–I can’t help thinking this sketch was aimed at me:

“You Can Do Anything!”

One thought on “the saga of the fast comes to an end

Leave a Reply

