a spooky proposal to my writer pals

Is it the Fall already??

Where did summer go?  Not that I’m complaining.  I like a good hoodie as much as the next guy, but–man!  All those summer dreams have been deferred.  Tough to think of all the hikes I didn’t hike and rivers I didn’t trek all in the name of food service, but such is life.

For the next couple days, I have one mission:  finishing my Coming of Mage manuscript.  Gotta get that puppy on the publisher’s desk YESTERDAY, PEOPLE!

For all practical purposes, it’s finished.  There’s some last-minute tweaks and it still needs a new scene and a once-over, but it has surpassed the wordcount goal, which is a huge weight lifted off my shoulders.

Another huge burden off my shoulders:  it’s good!  I was a little worried about more-than-doubling the wordcount as it could dismantle the integrity of the story.  But I assure you, it’s been expanded to the next level, quality AND quantity!

As it is my favorite time of year, I’m reminded of my yearly goal of fast-tracking a spooky, seasonal, Halloween story.

The “Pumpkin Spice Latte”  of the literary world, if you will.

Every year as October approaches, I have this fire in my gut about writing a spooky tail, and I spend my free time outlining a new story that never comes to fruition.  It’s fun to think about, gives me some motivation, but ultimately never happens.

So this year, I would like to get more of my writer friends on board.  A short spooky story contest!  And by contest, I mean no prize will be awarded!

Low stakes.  Good practice.  Lots of fun.  That’s what this one’s all about.  No wordcounts, no pressure!  Just a good old-fashioned romp in the autumn leaves.  A great gear-up for NaNoWriMo too, right?

I think it should be spooky, and I think it should take place on or around Halloween.  But after that, it’s no holds barred.

So who’s with me?  We can begin writing October 1st, tweet/blog/facebook/spread the good word as much as you want–but then the whole shebang will be due on my favorite holiday, All Hallows Eve Eve!

October 30th.  D-Day.  We posts whatever we gots on our respective blogs.  I’ll link everybody up for sure, you can link whatever you want after that.

Questions?  Comments?  Concerns?  Anybody got a clever title for this thing?

And most of all:  who’s down?!

 

3 thoughts on “a spooky proposal to my writer pals

Leave a Reply

