life after #Korra: the daily struggle

Day 2

No Pabu. No “Do the Thing.” No bending.

It’s been just over a month since I ordered this shirt from Teefury–

yip

–thus reminding myself that I needed to finish watching that show Avatar: The Last Airbender. It was one of those things I always meant to do, but when I started it, I was watching it on a tiny notebook laptop in my cousin’s basement and, I dunno, somehow the magic never sunk in. But, I couldn’t be a poser–I had enough Volcom shirts for that–so I decided to binge the whole show.

What did I think of it? In a word: perfection. One day classes on storytelling will be taught about Avatar.

I never wanted to watch anything else other than that show. Ever. Again. But I needed to let the wine breathe a little. Give myself the chance to properly digest the sum of awesomeness that was Aang’s adventure.

So, on a whim, I decided to take a chance on The Legend of Korra.

I know it’s not going to be as good. I’ll never care about the cast. It probably shouldn’t have been made but at least there’s bending in it.

I was totally wrong.

Korra hit all the beats. It carried on the legacy of Avatar, while blazing new trails. Expanded the mythology. And I only discovered it after the entire series had run its course.

But that’s good, right? Now I wouldn’t have to wait week-to-week! And the cliffhangers in Korra are twice as torturous as those of its predecessor.

So I dove in, headfirst, and watched every episode. Shorter seasons meant I charred each Book like a wildfire. I was out of control. Nothing seemed to be worth watching if it wasn’t Korra.

Two nights ago, I finished the series. Unlike when I’d finished Avatar, this was the end. There’s no more mythology.

For the first time in this wonderful age of technology, I’m upset that I had the opportunity to binge something. I feel cheated that. In only a couple weeks, I got to have the experience that everyone else stretched over the course of four years. Do you realize how lucky you people are?!?! For four glorious years, you guys got to wake up knowing there was more to come from Korra and her friends!!! I hope you savored every moment! I hope you reveled in its possible future! Talked about it at every watercooler!

Me? I treated the greatest show in television history like a matchstick. Struck it up and watched it combust. Only realizing what I had when I saw the cold ash of my blank TV screen.

Okay, okay, I’m done waxing poetic about a Nickelodeon show. But, honestly, the lessons I learned from Aang and Korra are unforgettable, and I owe them a great debt. They got me writing again. They taught me to let go a lot of hate, fear, and aggression. They got me doing Yoga–I realize that probably wasn’t the intention, but, hey, it happened.

Amazingly, this world was created by two mortal humans, Bryan Konietzko and Michael Dante DiMartino. They’ll probably never read this, but I want to thank them. This was probably the cheapest, most entertaining form of therapy I could ever get. And though I hope you return to this legacy you’ve created, I understand if you want to let it be. You’ve created something undeniably pristine.

Over the years, I’ve claimed a lot of things were my favorite this or that, but these two series truly take the cake. The sooner I can rewatch, the better.

Do yourself a favor. Watch this show. You’ll feel better. You’ll be better.

korra-beginning-header-1600

Leave a Reply

